Matthew Waxman wins World Series of Poker Event #7



After years of noteworthy results but no WSOP victories, Matthew Waxman can finally call himself a bracelet winner. The Florida poker pro defeated a large field in Event 7, a $1,000 No Limit Hold’em event, to win over $300,000 and a shiny new piece of hardware.

It might be the most hard-fought victory of Waxman’s career as he and bracelet winner Eric Baldwin battled back and forth in a remarkable heads-up match that lasted six hours and nearly 200 hands. The chip lead changed numerous times over, but each time the short-stacked player managed to battle back. After a seemingly endless bout, Waxman eventually prevailed to claim his first WSOP win.

Waxman has a long list of results dating back to 2008, including a Circuit Main Event victory in Atlantic City and three other WSOP final tables. After several near misses, Waxman earned the bracelet at one of the toughest $1,000 No Limit Hold’em final tables in recent WSOP memory. The win pushes him to over $2.5 million in career tournament earnings and adds another marquee result to an increasingly illustrious poker resume.

The first single entry $1,000 No Limit Hold’em event of the summer drew 1,837 players and generated a $1,653,300 prize pool. It also generated the most stacked final table of the summer thus far with two bracelet winners, several WSOP final tablists, and some of the best young players in the game, including Jason Koon (9th), bracelet winner Brent Hanks (5th), and three-time WSOP final tablist Amit Makhija (4th).

In fact, several recognizable pros were among the 198 players who made the money in this tournament. Players like Jason Senti (163rd), Ari Engel (50th), Annette Obrestad (42nd), and Paul Wasicka (33rd) all collected a payday.

Here are the final table results for the $1,000 No Limit Hold’em Event 7:

1st: Matthew Waxman – $305,952
2nd: Eric Baldwin – $189,220
3rd: Jess Dioquino – $130,825
4th: Amit Makhija – $94,353
5th: Brent Hanks – $68,975
6th: Jacob Jung – $51,086
7th: Robert Dreyfuss – $38,340
8th: Tuu Ho – $29,147
9th: Jason Koon – $22,435

Ante Up Magazine

Ante Up Magazine