Midwest players one step closer to Vegas prize



Hollywood Casino in Lawrenceburg, Ind., had a great turnout for its inaugural Hollywood Poker Open. Eight event winners and five mega-satellite winners are advancing to the $500K guaranteed HPO championship at the M Resort in Las Vegas on June 28-30. Each received a $2,500 seat at the championship and $1,500 in travel expenses. 

Andrew Jeffrey of Mansfield, Ohio, outlasted the 308 entrants, winning $35,266 in the main event. Here are the winners from this series:  

Event 1, NLHE: Karthik Ramakrishnan, Big Stone Gap, Va., $46,500.
Event 2, Seniors: Mark Kelhmeier, Columbus, Ohio, $3,691.
Event 3, Ladies: Jessica Berry, Louisville, $3,129.
Event 4, pot-limit Omaha: Ray Attiyah, Cincinnati, $4,758.
Event 5, bounty: Richard Panepinto, Indianapolis, $4,176.
Event 6, six-max: Richard Briscoe, Mitchell, Ind., $5,820.
Main Event: Andrew Jeffrey, Mansfield, Ohio, $35,266.
Event 8, NLHE: Kevin Snook, Brookville, Ind., $7,995.

Mega-satellite winners: Libby Wilson, Frankfort, Ky.; David Blickenstaff, Plymouth, Mich.; Jim Shelton, Bargersville, Ind.; Lester Schaefer, Connersville, Ind. and Dawn Donaldson, Indianapolis.

HPT BELTERRA: Greg Raymer, the 2004 World Series of Poker champ, captured a record fourth Heartland Poker Tour title this season, winning the event at Belterra Casino for $106K. He is the first player to win four HPT titles (and he did it all in one season). His other victories came at River City-Lumiere in St. Louis, Route 66 Casino in New Mexico and Prairie Meadows Casino in Iowa. He is the HPT’s all-time money leader.

— R.C. Thorne is Ante Up’s Southern Indiana Ambassador. Email him at anteuprc@gmail.com. 

Ante Up Magazine

Ante Up Magazine