Wikberg captures Denny Crum Poker Open, $16K



The Denny Crum Poker Open closed Aug. 4 with Kyle Wikberg walking away with the title.Wikberg, from Cottontown, Tenn., defeated 134 players in the $600 no-limit hold’em main event, winning $16,812.

Charles Sauter of Indianapolis, Ronnie Brown of Red Boiling Springs, Tenn., Shannon Shepherd of Greenwood, Ind., Joseph Marshall of Louisville, Kurt Jewell of Frankfort, Ky., Chris McFarlane of Lima, Ohio, Raymond Zavada of Louisville, Jonathon Watkins of Jeffersonville, Ind., Jamie Johnson of Terre Haute, Ind., Charles Gaar of Louisville, and Anthony Hunt of Louisville rounded out the remaining cash places. Nearly $70K was up for grabs, with more than $8K going to the Denny Crum Scholarship Foundation in its ninth year.The foundation awards scholarships to high school students in the Louisville and Southern Indiana area and has awarded nearly $300K since its inception.

WSOPC: The Southern Indiana Horseshoe Casino will host the World Series of Poker Circuit from Sept. 27-Oct. 8. See wsop.com and horseshoe-indiana.com for more details.

— R.C. Thorne is Ante Up’s Southern Indiana Ambassador. Email him atanteuprc@gmail.com.

Ante Up Magazine

Ante Up Magazine