Rousso, Mercier in National Heads-Up field at Caesars Palace in Vegas



The field for NBC’s sixth annual National Heads-Up Poker Championship is set, and Vanessa Rousso (last year’s runner-up) and Jason Mercier lead the field.

Rousso, a Hobe Sound, Fla., resident, lost 2-0 in the final last year against champion Huck Seed.

“We’ll of course be rooting for our Go Daddy Girl Vanessa Rousso,” said Go Daddy CEO and Founder Bob Parsons, whose company is sponsoring the tournament at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. “Vanessa is ready for another great run at this year’s 2010 heads-up tournament. She’ll definitely bring her ‘A’ game given the fierce competition.”

Mercier, who lives in the Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. area, is one of the hottest poker players on the planet, recently winning Bluff Player of the Year.

The field:
Patrick Antonius
Eric Baldwin
Andy Bloch
Doyle Brunson
Joe Cada
Johnny Chan
Don Cheadle
Allen Cunningham
Pieter De-Korver
Annie Duke
Tom Dwan
Peter Eastgate
Eli Elezra
Antonio Esfandiari
Sam Farha
Chris Ferguson
Ted Forrest
Jamie Gold
Phil Gordon
Barry Greenstein
Bertrand Grospellier
Joe Hachem
Gus Hansen
Jennifer Harman
Phil Hellmuth
Orel Hershiser
Jesper Hougaard
Phil Ivey
John Juanda
Gabe Kaplan
John Paul Kelly
Phil Laak
Howard Lederer
Erick Lindgren
Mike Matusow
Jason Mercier
Dario Minieri
Chris Moneymaker
Darvin Moon
Greg Mueller
Daniel Negreanu
Scotty Nguyen
Annette Obrestad
Brock Parker
Dennis Phillips
Greg Raymer
Vanessa Rousso
Kara Scott
Huck Seed
Erik Seidel
Mike Sexton
Gavin Smith
Jennifer Tilly
Paul Wasicka
David Williams
Leo Wolpert
Jerry Yang
There are seven online qualifiers as well.

NBC’s television coverage:
April 18 – Noon – 1PM ET
April 25 – Noon – 2PM ET
May 2 – Noon – 2PM ET
May 9 – Noon – 2PM ET
May 16 – Noon – 2PM
May 23 – Noon – 3PM

Ante Up Magazine

Ante Up Magazine