Blair Hinkle wins WSOPC at Council Bluffs in Iowa



The Horseshoe Casino in Council Bluffs hosted the World Series of Poker Circuit on April 10-21 as Blair Hinkle of Weatherby Lake, Mo., topped the field of 247 in the main event to claim $90,770 of the $370,500 prize pool. The runner-up spot fell to Matt Bond of Irving, Texas, settling for $56,086. Hinkle is the only player to win the main event at the same location in back-to-back years. This ties him with only one other player, Chris Ferguson, to have three main-event rings.

The opening event was a $365 no-limit hold’em event with 183 entries, captured by Jeff Esposito. The prize pool was $54,900 and Esposito left with $14,275. Event 2 was a $365 turbo with 178 entries as top prize went to Bruce Waltke from Topeka. He overcame a 6-to-1 disadvantage to eliminate Kirk Kane. Waltke walked away with $14,216 in the short 11-hour tournament.

Event 3 was a $365 re-entry event that Stephen Kats captured. He is fond of WSOPC in Iowa because he has won three rings at Iowa properties. The California pro took home $32,181 after defeating nearly 500 players.

Jeremy Roldan took down Event 4 ($365) by beating 150 players for his first ring and $12,231.

Event 5 went to James Mullin for $11,844 and Event 6 ($365 Omaha/8) gave Joshua Reichard his second ring for $10,919.

Duncan Barnell, 23, of Lincoln, Neb., took down the six-max Event 7 ($13,441) and Henry Gingerich won Event 8 ($14,976). Event 9 ($580) went to Matthew Anderson of Lincoln and Event 10 ($365) was won by Yossi Azulay from Chicago. Ryan Tepen of Chesterfield, Mo., won the final event, a $365 turbo.

— Email Ken at 

Ante Up Magazine

Ante Up Magazine