Jason Duval wins World Series of Poker Event #28



It has been quite a run for Canadians here at the World Series of Poker in 2013. It started with Daniel Negreanu winning the Main Event at the inaugural WSOP Asia-Pacific in Melbourne, Australia in April. And heading into tonight’s final table, six other Canadians also added WSOP gold bracelets to their resumes during the 44th Annual World Series of Poker.

The latest Canadian champion is another French-Canadian, Jason Duval. The 23-year-old student from Quebec triumphed in the latest $1,500 No Limit Hold’em event, winning the bracelet and $521,202. The victory is the first for Duval and the seventh for Canada this year, setting a record for the most bracelets won by the North American powerhouse in a single summer. Pretty impressive considering we are basically at the halfway point of the action this summer.

Duval defeated Majid Yahyaei heads-up for the bracelet as a strong contingent of Canadian supporters cheered him on. For the second time this summer, 2010 WSOP Main Event Champion Jonathan Duhamel was on hand to watch his fellow countryman win a bracelet, as was top French-Canadian pro Marc-Andre Ladouceur.

This $1,500 No Limit Hold’em event drew a field of 2,115 players and generated a prize pool of $2,855,250. The top 216 finishers each earned a payday worth at least $2,912. Some of the notables who finished in the money were Joe Cada (211th), Adam Geyer (176th), bracelet winner Craig McCorkell (92nd), Phil Collins (90th), Erica Schoenberg (73rd), Eric Baldwin (60th), actor James Woods (54th), Olivier Busquet (26th), Eoghan O’Dea (23rd), and TJ Cloutier, who came close to the final table, taking 13th place.

The final table featured neither previous bracelet winners nor any players with previous WSOP final table experience.

Here are the final table results for the $1,500 No Limit Hold’em Event 28:

1st: Jason Duval – $521,202
2nd: Majid Yahyaei – $324,442
3rd: Masayuki Nagata – $225,521
4th: James Lee – $162,420
5th: Tommy Townsend – $118,707
6th: Dan Martin – $87,813
7th: Stephen Bartlett – $65,813
8th: Daniel Bishop – $49,952
9th: Joseph Cappucio – $38,360

Ante Up Magazine

Ante Up Magazine