2012-13 World Series of Poker Circuit Horseshoe Southern Indiana Day 2: Eveslage Leads



Day 2 of the World Series of Poker Circuit presented by Southern Comfort 100 Proof Horseshoe Southern Indian Main Event wrapped after a long 13-hour day. Of the 140 players who returned only 21 remain and leading the charge with a stack of 840,000 is Chad Eveslage.

Jason Stanford (599,000), John Tate (516,000) and Sean Winter (470,000) form the chase pack behind Evelsage. Charles Furey, Kevin Davis, Ilias Kellikidis, and Dan Heimiller are also in contention to make some noise on Monday.

There was a rough start to Day 2 including redraw problems and a train delay — yes, a train delay. The highway that leads to the casino was blocked by stopped freight train that caused many of the local players a delay in arriving on time.

Once cards hit the air, there was action as usual. The money didn’t burst until two levels after returning from dinner. Robert Scott was the unfortunate player who was the last to be eliminated without receiving a payout.

Kathy Liebert is the short stack after bagging up 89,000. Yussi Azulay, Kenny Nguyen, Tim Chang, and Stephen Boker join Liebert at the bottom of the counts.

Midway through the day Liebert went on a tear for a level and half. She went from a slightly below average stack to one of the leaders after doubling through Sean Winter. Then she picked up pocket aces and got all of her chips in on the turn of a board reading {7-Spades} {5-Spades} {2-Diamonds} {7-Diamonds}. The river brought the {3-Diamonds} and Leibert’s aces bested her opponent’s pocket eights. However, for the remainder of the day her chip stack started trending downward and she finished as the short stack.

Rounding out the field are Bryan Dillon, Neil Harding, Aaron Kerns, Joseph Worth, Ki Kim, Drennon Rackley, Jonathan Taylor, and Bryan Williams.

Top 10 Chip Counts Heading into Day 3

Place Player Chips
1 Chad Eveslage  840,000
2 Jason Stanford 599,000
3 John Tate 516,000
4 Sean Winter 470,000
5 Charles Furey 445,000
6 Kevin Davis 420,000
7 Ilias Kellikidis 411,000
8 Dan Heimiller 374,000
9 Bryan Dillon 359,000
10 Neil Harding 296,000

Cards will be in the air promptly at 1300 EST (1800 BST). Follow all the action as play progresses to a winner on Pokernews.com.

Follow PokerNews on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news.

Ante Up Magazine

Ante Up Magazine