WPT lands at Jax for bestbet Open on April 27



The World Poker Tour heads to North Florida for the debut of the televised WPT Jacksonville bestbet Open. As the first major event held in the brand new bestbet Jacksonville complex, this WPT Main Event is set to attract a diverse field of amateurs and professionals to the largest poker room in the state of Florida.

The penultimate WPT Main Event of Season X features a $5,000 buy-in, is open to anyone 18 years or older, and includes a re-entry option on Day 1B. Not only will the entire WPT team be filming throughout the week, but WPT stars Mike Sexton, Vince Van Patten and Tony Dunst will be competing together on the felt for the first time in an open WPT Main Event. Pending deep runs, Mike and Vince will call the final table action on May 2 while Dunst hosts WPT live streaming on WPT.com starting at 4:30 p.m. ET.

WPT Main Event participants will be welcomed on April 27th with a VIP Party at bestbet Jacksonville at the close of the day’s action. Later in the week on May 1, the Royal Flush Girls will be competing in a special live Sit ‘n’ Go with a few lucky players. Additional activities for WPT Champions Club members include a golfing excursion with WPT talent, a night of racing at bestbet’s Orange Park Kennel Club and a special WPT hosted dinner. All these off-the-felt events will be filmed by WPT TV crew for the World Poker Tour broadcast.

In the tight race for WPT Player of the Year, Will “The Thrill” Failla has been bumped from the top spot for the first time during Season X. Joe Serock now holds pole position following back-to-back third place finishes in televised Season X tournaments. However, the prestigious honor is still up for grabs as many of the world’s top professionals are within one deep WPT Main Event run of the title.

Bestbet Jacksonville is the largest poker room in the state of Florida with 70 tables. The originative facility contains an expansive sports and racing simulcast center that features 120” TV screens. For the upcoming WPT Jacksonville bestbet Open, a custom commemorative surfboard will be awarded to the last player standing under 21.

Early confirmations for the event have been numerous and illustrious. Among the players slated to participate are WPT Season X champions Matt Giannetti, Matt Waxman, James Dempsey and Anthony Ruberto, WPT Players of the Year Jonathan Little (Ante Up strategy columnist) and Andy Frankenberger, past and current WPT Ones to Watch Maria Ho, William Reynolds, Matt Marafioti, Lauren Kling, Matt Affleck, and Jason Mercier, and leading female WPT career-earner Kathy Liebert.

Ante Up Magazine

Ante Up Magazine